SCUSD Observer

Sacramento, California

Teachers speak

Yesterday’s post began to generate some great discussion about the role of SCTA in district budget cuts.

The launching pad was Marcos Breton’s Sunday column villifying the union. The comments container on the Sac Bee generated a lot of interest as did opinion on Facebook.

By the end of the day the argument went down the Sac Charter road, as it always seems to do.

But let’s back up a minute and leave out the union, politics, parents and the opinion writer.

Let us read what a couple of teachers have to say:

I think the point of the editorial was to show how unwilling our union is to compromise. I know for a fact that many teachers at my school have brought several suggestions and issues to the union only to have them ignored or looked down upon. The union leaders think they know what is best for us, but are really just on an ego filled power trip.

I agree. I reduced my membership to the lowest I could (SEIU). When my mother, who works for them as well was laid off, they stood by and did nothing. Well, that’s not true, they lied time and time again, then did nothing. Beyond that, I have found them to be pretty much self serving and unwilling to do anything real to help anyone but themselves.

*
*
*

Written by scusdobserver

March 3, 2010 at 5:39 pm

