SCUSD Observer

Sacramento, California

Transcript of Jonathan Raymond’s remarks at Kevin Johnson’s press conference

At Monday’s press conference with state and local education leaders at Valley High School (Elk Grove Unified), Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson introduced Jonathan Raymond as a rookie member, apparently, of his “team.”



Here’s the video.

Here’s a transcript:

Kevin Johnson: I want to save the superintendent from Sac City Unified for last because he’s the newest member, he’s a rookie. So we’re going to initiate him this year with all kind of fun little pranks that he has no idea what’s in store for him.

He comes to us from Charlotte, North Carolina and we are very pleased to have this superintendent here in Sacramento. He will be working very closely with the gentlemen behind me building a great team at Sac City Unified School District and let’s give a nice warm welcome to the new superintendent and the rookie superintendent, Jonathan Raymond.

Jonathan Raymond: Thank you Mr. Mayor. Yes it’s true that I’m from North Carolina…they play a little basketball in Carolina, but I don’t play basketball so leave me out of that game.

It’s truly a privilege to be here and I think that the leadership behind me speaks more than words can say and it’s all been said except I’ll try to boil it down…when President Obama said that the countries that out-educate us will out-compete us…if you think about it from the state and the region – and even a local level, we have some serious challenges.

I was with students on Friday from Hiram Johnson and one of them asked me,

“Why have you come to Sacramento? Why did you leave North Carolina to come to Sacramento?”

And what I said is because of you…because of students like you, because the challenges are tremendous today but so are the opportunities.

For us to be able to compete in this flat world that Thomas Friedman, a columnist for the New York Times, says, we have to muster all the creativity and imagination that we have. That’s our competitive edge.

And it’s very simple. If you want the same results, keep doing the same things, but that’s not the California way, that’s not the California tradition.

So this is a tremendous place to be. There’s energy, there’s ideas, there’s thought leaders and there’s leaders in the community that want a better world for our students.

So I can’t think of a better way to start than in this community with a mayor and a superintendent and a state leadership that’s poised for greatness. A community that’s energized and wants to be involved with their resources, their time and their ideas.

So to join this team is a great opportunity. I’m excited about it. I’m looking forward to working with the gentlemen behind me and Mayor Johnson’s leadership in our community and we will be great. And I think we will show the world and we will show the country and show the state of California the power that is going to reside in this community so I’m pleased to be here and I look forward to working with the rest of the community.

Written by scusdobserver

August 27, 2009 at 9:29 pm

